faifo April 2016.

I like calling Hoi An, a small ancient town in Vietnam is Faifo. don’t know when Hoi An has that name, maybe it’s really a long time ago. Faifo, Faifo, Faifo…is is really similar with “phôi pha” – a Vietnamese word means “fade away”. In Hoi An, everything seems slow. Just look at what time done with Hoi An, it’s feel like this town could be faded away at any time.

 

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset
Hoi An Ancient town

 

I just come back from “faifo” last week and that was my first time in Hoi An. As usual, I travel alone this time, but not really. My colleague join me on the last day and I also hanging around with new friends, ones who share a room with me at the hostel. Weather in April a bit hot but quite comfortable. street food is super cheap and yummy but I’m not sure about restaurants haha. Also, I had bad experience when went to An Bang Beach but it’s okay. You can’t expect just have only wonderful experience when travelling. Also spent one night at Da Nang and took a tour to Cu Lao Cham island.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Cu Lao Cham island

To go to Hoi An, you can take a bus, a train of a fly to Danang. Then take a bus from Da Nang to Hoi An. The bus which takes you from Da Nang to Hoi An is yellow and work from 5.Am to 5.30Pm with ticket only 20000VND (around 1USD). If not, you can choose taxi, which cost around 300-350.000VND or rent motorbike.

 

IMG_4465
Set of tea and traditional cookie at Reaching out Tea shop.

 

When in Hoi An, I stayed at Gia Bao Hoi An Backpackers, which is very near to the ancient town. If you just need a bed to sleep, then it’s an ok choice. They also have breakfast include in room fee. But take note that you will pay a little if want to rent a tower and they don’t have shampoo or soap or toothpaste. For Da Nang, I choose Memory Hostel, a well-decorated hostel just opened recently. Everything about this hostel is good. They have a rooftop for a stunning view Han river. They also held some event like take you around Da Nang city or Hoi An for free. Just ask the receptionist for more information or you can miss it like me *crying*.

 

IMG_4422
Fried wanton at 533 Hai Ba Trung Street – Hoi An.

 

In Hoi An, you can try some signature dishes like

-Ba Buoi chicken rice – 22 Phan Chau Trinh Street. Open from 11Am to 5.30Pm.

-Phuong Vietnamese Bread – 2A Phan Chau Trinh Street. Open from 6Am to 9Pm

-Cao lau noodle – 26 Thai Phien. Open morning only.

-Fried wanton – 33 Hai Ba Trung. Open all day to 9Pm.

….

Some coffee shop like Reaching out, Cocojuice, Faifo…Bar and restaurant we have The Chef, Cargo Bar or Secret Garden. You can search on trip advisor for more information.

 

IMG_4620
Chilling time at Sky36 – Novotel Hotel Da Nang.

 

For Da Nang, I do not have many information because I just spent 1 night, few hours exactly. I just only know Sky bar, the bar place 36th floor in Da Nang. Best choice for Da Nang view.

At ancient town, they sell ticket for entering some tourist place like Cau Temple, Fukian Assembly… and not include English demonstrator so I just went inside, seeing and walked out. Many people are compare Hoi An ancient town with Geogre Town in Penang but these two are completely different. For me, Hoi An is losing slowly its ancient atmosphere. And though, Hoi An ancient town is a place used to be have Chinese-Japanese and Vietnamese mixing culture but now just only Vietnamese people here. I’m not see any Chinese and Japanese culture here at all except some relics. For Penang, seem like it conserved in good way. And the way I met many races in Geogre Town, aet many dishes from many culture make me more interested.

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
Hoi An ancient town.

This is my 1st time writing review and all I did is just eat, wandering around, eat, wandering around so I do not divide the trip like Day 1, Day 2…Hope some information above can help you.

See ya again in my next review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

